What is it?
The Buddy List is an AniDB feature which allows you to tell AniDB who you consider to be your friends.
Being marked as buddies has several implications:
- The special "Buddy" permission set from your Profile options is applied for buddies. That means that you can give more rights to your buddies than to normal AniDB members.
- As buddies you can add anime to each others My wishlists. Simply click on the "buddy" link near the wish list options on the anime page.
- You will be able to see each others MyRecommendations.
How it works
Simply go to the Buddy List page and enter the username or uid of the person you want to add in the "Add buddy" form. This will create a request to the other person to allow you to have him listed as your buddy. The other person will have to accept your request before it becomes active. Pending requests can also be seen and granted/rejected on this page. For the relationship to be mutual the other person has to request to be your buddy as well.
A privileged user is a Buddy where only 1 side added the buddy relationship. This means only 1 side gets the extra buddy access permission if used by the users. The other user will get treated as a regular user
Tabs on the My Buddies Page
On this tab you can see the list of buddies that you have. The table contains the following information:
- Date - the date when you accepted the buddy request
- Friendship - mutual means both you and the other person have each others as buddies; one-sided means that the other person only has you as a privileged user.
- Taste - the taste setting determines if the recommendations of this user are shown to you. Currently there is no difference between unknown and similar.
- Last Online - the time when your buddy last visited AniDB.
- Anime - your buddy's anime count
- Episodes - your buddy's episode count
- Files - your buddy's file count
- Size - your buddy's total file size
- Actions - a list of useful links related to your buddy
NEEDS IMAGES OF BUTTONS
|Note||The buddy relation is asymmetric by default, meaning that by adding someone else as a buddy, you will not automatically be added to their buddy list too.|